THE UNIVERSITY OF MURCIA



The University of Murcia is the third oldest university in Spain, after the University of Salamanca (1218 AD) and the University of Valladolid (1241 AD), and the thirteenth in the world. It was founded in 1272 by the King Alfonso X of Castile . This event is commemorated in the University's coat of arms, which displays 1272 as the year of its foundation. However, the initiative was short-lived, as were successive attempts to reintroduce higher education to the region in the 19th Century the Universidad Literaria de

Murcia (1840-41) and the Universidad Libre de Murcia (1869-1874).

The Universidad de Murcia, as it survives today, was eventually founded in 1915. In 1935, after a series of temporary sites proved inadequate, the University moved to the building that continues to be its most historic and emblematic location, the Convent of la Merced, which now houses the Faculty of Law.



Designed by Pedro Monte in the early XVI century, the cloister is one of the most significant monuments of the Renaissance of the region. The church was built in the XVIII century in the traditional baroque stile of this area. The whole convent was confiscated in 1835 by the Government and the cloister became a silk factory until the XX century when the Marist Brothers bought the

building and turn it into a school. After the Civil War the University was installed in the cloister, but the church was bought by the Franciscan Order.

As the number of degrees and qualifications offered has increased over the years, the demands of a growing student population have made it necessary to open new buildings and centres on other sites. The largest campus is located in the district of Espinardo, close to the city centre, which contains most of the University's academic buildings and a substantial proportion of its services and other facilities. There are other 3 campuses, two for medical and health Studies in Murcia and Lorca, and a fifth one on the seaside that houses the Faculty of Sports.

